Aeropress Techniques; Water to grinds ratio in Aeropress

French Press, Vac Pot, Drip or any other - air your views and results

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Aeropress Techniques; Water to grinds ratio in Aeropress

Postby Olings » Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:13 am

Ok, I know this might have been covered in some other topic somewhere and I did a search but the threads had developed into monster proportions and I couldn't find what I was looking for. So I decided to label my thread very bluntly to the point so that it might at least serve it's purpose for future referance.

Excuses aside here is the question (actually it's a couple of paragraphs down so if you're bored you can skip the next bit and only read the last sentence; the one above my signature):

I recently got a hold of an Aeropress (finally). I started playing around with it after having read the manual. I was not completely satisfied with the result as I found the coffee a bit on the "strong/dark" side.

I had bought myself two wonderful beans to try out; an unwashed Yirgacheffe (Adido) and Panama Jaramillo. They didn't come out the way I wanted them to after following the instructions. So I used 1 measure of beans and water up to the "3" mark. The result seemed to me to be a bit more right. I'm not sure I'm on the money with it yet though so I wondered how you guys do it.

What is your grind to water ratio for the Aeropress?

Ola
La Marzocco GS3, Compak K10, Dualit grinder, Turkish coffee maker (Ibrik) and grinder, Eva Solo coffee maker, French press, Aeropress.
Olings

Postby scook94 » Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:49 am

Well I tend to use 1 and 3/4 scoops and fill the water to about 1 cm from the top. Stir for 20-30s then "press" the coffee...
Izzo Vivi | Mazzer SJ Doserless | Gene Cafe
scook94

Postby lukas » Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:20 am

The instructions that come with it are crap ;)