Moka pot technique... how to get a crema

French Press, Vac Pot, Drip or any other - air your views and results

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Moka pot technique... how to get a crema

Postby Terje » Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:18 am

I'm still learning. Brewing the coffee on low heat seems to be the trick. Any more tips?
Terje

Postby Jo2 » Fri Jul 08, 2005 7:28 pm

Start with water that is already hot... I will take shorter to reach the "boiling point" so your grounds stay fresher...
Mazzermini E, Jura E80, Mokapot (VBM Domobar Super on its way)
Jo2

Postby zix » Sat Jul 09, 2005 8:46 am

And use freshly roasted coffee. If you want more crema, grind the beans as soon as they have cooled down from the roaster. With moka pot coffee, drinking ultra fresh coffee is okay. (as you may know, most espresso drinkers want to wait for 1-7 days from the time of roasting)
‹• Bezzera B3000AL • Strietman ES3 • Chemex • Cona C size • Aeropress • Vev moka • Bialetti Brikka • Espro • Cezve • Bacchi Espresso • Arrarex Caravel •
• HG-1 • Lido 1 & E-T • OE Pharos •
• oven • hot air gun • Behmor •›
zix

Postby Terje » Sat Jul 09, 2005 2:50 pm

This is how I do: I take some raw beans and throw them in a frying pan and roast away. I start out with a hot stove and take it down to medium shortly after first crack. I like my beans really dark so I keep roasting until after second crack. Then I grind them right away and put it all in the moka pot, switch off the stove and brew it on the "after heat". Seems to be the best yet.
Terje

Postby Jo2 » Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:32 pm

Maybe you do need to wait 12-24 hours... I have been told that beans that fresh don't give much crema in an espressomachine either...
Jo2

Postby Terje » Sat Jul 09, 2005 8:21 pm

That would be very easy to try.
Terje

Postby stevenzaat » Sun Jul 10, 2005 5:30 pm

Maybe you do need to wait 12-24 hours... I have been told that beans that fresh don't give much crema in an espressomachine either...

Jo,