Commericl Machines

For non-TMC members to ask questions and offer comments

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Commericl Machines

Postby tomgreen » Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:44 am

Hi guys,
liek the name suggests, I'm a newbie, so please be gentle. AFter lamenting over the total lack of decent espresso in GLasgow, I'm taking the plunge into setting up a small business.
Here's the prob:
All the barista work I've done has been on machines plumbed directly into the mains, but now I'll be working form a seperate water supply (water cooler bottles). Since the machine I'll be using, the Elektra Barlume 2 group, needs a 15mm supply with stopcock, min. pressure 3 bar, I'm pretty clueless as to what I need. The company I'll rent from says it HAS to be plumbed in. Is there some kind of pump system I can use?

Sorry for the massive email, but I've exhausted other avenues of research.

Tom
tomgreen

Postby chemistone » Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:22 am

Some people use a small rotary pump to feed the machine from water bottles.

I don't know how they do the controls, is the supply pump running the whole time (heat!) or does it switch with the main pump of the machine?
As a final touch God created the Dutch

Mazzer mini, ECM Giotto²
chemistone

Postby bruceb » Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:49 am

Hello Tom,
You might contact the manufacturer or dealer and ask them if they have any suggestions. I once saw a fellow who pressurized his water bottles with a small air compressor. That might be safer (?) than a positive displacement rotary because those pumps are quickly damaged if the bottle runs dry. There may be commercial solutions.
Three Francesconi (CMA) espresso machines - Rossi, San Marco, LaCimbali, Faema and 2 Mazzer Major grinders- CoffeeTech Maggionlino, Hottop, Alpenröst and HW Precision roasters.
I decided I needed a bit of a change so I roasted some Monsooned Malabar. That was a change!
bruceb

Postby HughF » Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:33 pm